The Network Society theory helps us to understand how the social order works by presenting itself as the social structure characteristic in the world. As the reading says, in various cultural and institutional manifestations the Network Society has enabled all different types of technological fields to cross paths and interact with one another.

The reading also mentions that the rise of new mass self-communication and new technologies provides opportunities for non-institutional forms of social movements to gain influence. In relation to my magazine this is correct in the sense that the rise of the Network Society allowed us as non-professionals to gain access to parts of Journalism that we needed for our writing in the magazine. Self-communication is good as well because it means that students like myself aren’t reliant on the power of the media to provide us with information and we can venture out for ourselves, when coming up with ideas to write articles for our magazines we had to do the research for ourselves and with the power of interactivity we were able to email professional journalists for advice and include them in our articles.

As previously mentioned there is growing use of these new networks to distribute content and to aid interactions with the audience and Castells argues that recent years have allowed growth in social movements. The reading as a whole I found really complicated and I did not really understand the theories as best as I could as the way the reading was presented was way too over complicated which has left me with little to discuss in this blog post unfortunately. However I can still relate it somewhat to magazine as the Network Society has proved that not all parts of the world have access to the internet which means that the use of traditional Journalism is still needed if you want an original idea as I had to take some of my own photos for some of my articles.

 

