During the reading on spectacles and simulacrum an interesting theory came to light about how the world we live in today has become ‘Hyperreality’, this is a special kind of social reality in which a reality is created or simulated from models, or defined by reference to models – a reality generated from ideas. The term has implications of being too perfect and schematic to be true, like special effects. It is experienced as more real than the real, because of its effect of breaking down the boundary between real and imaginary. It is a ‘real’ without ‘origin or reality’, a reality to which we cannot connect.

This term relates to how the media world we live in we are unable to connect. is This is how I view most women magazines to be lately. I feel myself as I get older, steering away from these superficial ‘hyperreal’ glossy magazines that are brainwashing me into believing that the way I am isn’t good enough and therefore I need to change, apparently they now know what is good for me. These magazines have 10 simple steps on how I can re-invent myself. In relation to Baudrillard in the reading he highlighted some significant theories on how as a postmodern society we have essentially become so reliant on maps and models that we are unable to think for ourselves.

This brings me on to a relevant point about how the idea of spectacles and simulacra in relation to my magazine that I am working on in my Journalism lessons, we decided to completely steer away from the fake spectacles that we see in normal magazines and take the approach of asking deep meaningful questions to our potential readers that will have our female readers feeling intellectually stimulated rather than feeling that they have to worry about some part of their appearance. One of the girls in my magazine group is doing an interesting article on why fashion trends have become so important to follow in order to fit in. She raise awareness on how the fashion world and the media put emphasis on the importance of having to follow trends can lead to one feeling left out if you aren’t apart of them.

I guess you could argue that is touching on the ideas of spectacles in the sense that we as a society nowadays draw more attention to superficial things rather than important matters nowadays. Essentially social media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter has re-created this superficial idealistic image of what ‘beauty’ means and if this vicious cycle isn’t broken then there will be no room for change in the magazine industry. Overall my magazine is trying really hard to steer away from the stereotypical women’s magazine and trying to go for a different approach to gain our readers attention. However why was make-up the first thing that came to our minds in the beginning ? Have we become brainwashed and accustomed to the stereotypes we see in women’s magazines perhaps ?

 

