PAYBACK from duckrabbit on Vimeo.

Payback is a short video produced professional by Duck Rabbit. Although the video is only five minutes and forty-four seconds long it really is effective in getting your attention and then taking you on a journey. The way in which it is shot is impressive and it has a very high quality finish, but the visuals aren’t the important thing. The whole story is carried by one voice narrating the whole story, his story. I really enjoyed the way that the producers of the video made the decision that story was at the core of the film and they took the decision not to strip it back to make his story the priority. I found the visuals hooked me into the film then as it went on my focus moved from the images on scree to the story I was hearing.

I did consider for quite a while if I was to call this piece of content a film or a video or another title. I decided to call it a short feature film. I decided to do this as when I shut my eyes I could draw a strong compassion between a radio feature. Then remembered a conversation I had had about this type of short form feature before where I was shown Crisell’s quote that would seem to suggest this short form video style originates perhaps from the radio feature and is keeping it alive in the digital era. Crisell said this style if content is targeted towards a “small but discerning audience and beyond the intimidating glare of television”.

Sometimes I did feel watching Payback the visuals were there because they had to be, not because they added anything to the story. There are shots of the protagonist walking through a tunnel in Greenwich. Although these shots were nice I sometimes struggled to make a connection from what I was hearing and what I was seeing.  An element that I think is harnessed and benefits the piece is Nicholas and Price’s ‘talking head’ approach, they tell us “associated with authority and the presentation of facts”.

I also watched http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p03c4mlb

‘Why we anthropomorphise things’ is a short film that can be found on the BBC Radio 4 website. The short film has to aims – firstly to explore and understand why people anthropomorphise things. But the real reason for the short film is to promote ‘The Human Zoo’ podcast. I don’t really think that the short film really fit’s the BBC Radio 4 audience. It feels to me I am watching a CBeebies film at times and I am aware they are talking about children so were trying a particular angle but I do not think it has worked. The male authoritative voice sounds a tad patronizing but I do like how the voice is talking to ‘you’ the viewer. A technique David Lloyd promotes in his book ‘How to make great radio’.

In a world wh

